About Us

 Arunachal Pradesh Biodiversity Board was established in accordance with Section 22 of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002 by the State Government in March, 2005 vide notification No. FOR.262/1-4/04 and notified in State Gazette vide notification No. 5 Vol. XVI, Naharlagun, Tuesday May 31, 2005. The Board is presently functioning from Itanagar. 


Functions of the Board

The principal functions of the Board are to;

Advise the State Government, subject to any guidelines issued by the Central Government, on matters relating to the conservation of biodiversity, sustainable use of its components and equitable sharing of the benefits arising out of the utilisation of biological resources;

Regulate request for granting of approvals or otherwise for commercial utilisation or bio-survey and bio-utilisation of any biological resources by Indians;

Perform such other functions as may be necessary to implement the provisions of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002, or as may be prescribed by the State Government.


Board Member


     Mr. Tapen Siga, Ex-MLA


Ex-officio Member

     PCCF and Principal Secretary, Department of Environment & Forests, Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh

     PCCF (WL & Biodiversity), Department of Environment & Forests, Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh

     Secretary/HoD Dept. of Agriculture/Animal Husbandry, Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh

     Secretary/HoD Dept. of Horticulture, Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh

     Secretary/HoD Dept. of Rural Development, Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh

     Secretary/HoD Dept. of Tourism, Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh

     Secretary Law, Govt. of Arunachal Pradesh



Non-official Member

     HoD, Zoology, Rajiv Gandhi University, Rono Hills, Itanagar

     HoD, Forestry, NERIST, Nirjuli, Itanagar

     Dean, College of Horticulture & Forestry, Pasighat

     Head of Office, Zoological Survey of India, Itanagar

     Head of Office, Botanical Survey of India, Itanagar

     Joint Director, Ayurveda Regional Research Institute, Itanagar 


Member Secretary

          CCF & Director, State Forest Research Institute, Itanagar